Love each other for the sake of Allah swt: a Point Plus Program

Abû Hurayrah relates that the Prophet (peace be upon him) said: “Allah will ask on the Day of Judgment: ‘Where are those who loved each other for the sake of My glory? Today, – on a day when there is no shade but mine – I shall shade them with My shade.” [Sahîh Muslim (2566)] 

“I love you for the sake of Allah”. This phrase has been used by me and by many others so many times. I recently attended a halaqa also on this topic and what struck me was the word “love”.

Something was amiss and I was very restless.

Yes I love a lot of people, but I do that because they are my family; blood, in law or through circumstances.

But the Messenger of Allah (s) in his statement does not make any exceptions. He (s) talks only about “loving each other for the sake of Allah”.

I was so confused when I looked around me and saw people using this statement yet exhibiting coldness in emotion, jealousy, betrayal in their attitude.

And then I looked up the word in the dictionary, as I think we sometimes really forget the “meaning” of the word we speak so casually.

Love means to have really strong feelings of affection for someone and to really like someone.

🙂

Now a different question perplexed me. Ok Alhamdulillah I really love some people, but here as I said earlier the Messenger of Allah (s) makes no exception.

So how to really love someone who hurt or betrayed me?!!!! And I like you desperately want that shade of Allah’s!!

After all the hurt and the discussion which unfortunately is labeled under the tag ” “gheebat”  in our Book Of Deeds settles down and the remorse sets in  i look for the answer to “how to truly love a person no matter what for the sake of Allah swt” and and then  alhamdullilah I came upon a simple Point Plus Program Guide for Truly Loving a Person for the Sake of Allah:

  1. Make the intention: no matter what I will “love “ this person for the sake of Allah swt as He wants me to  and I desperately want that shade on the day when there will be no shade but His.
  1. Acknowledge the struggle: None of us is perfect. Not me. Not you. Each day is an intense struggle with the nafs and this dunya to live life the way Allah wants us to live. Each one of us has different areas of weakness and strengths. Acknowledge the struggle and remember we are all “sisters (or brothers) in arms” against the shaitan.
  1. Identify the Good Areas: each one of us has some “good areas”. Something about a person that is good and we like. Identify it.
  1. Focus on it: once we have identified the good areas, focus on them alone. You must have seen a horse with the blinders around its eyes, to make it look only straight ahead. Become like that horse. Focus only on the good areas. Not easy. I agree but if done for the sake of Allah, then eventually it does become easy. Inshallah!!
  1. Seek refuge from the shaitan: something negative will happen to derail us. A nasty comment, a cold look, someone telling us about the bad the other person has said or done to us.  Seek refuge from Allah. Only He can help and anyways we are doing it only for His sake. So He will help us inshallah. And start at Point No 1 again : acknowledge the struggle a person makes.
  1. 6.     Remember no one is Perfect. Not you. Not me:  we are all struggling in this dunya for a better Akhirah. None of us is perfect and if we don’t help each other by being forgiving and understanding and sympathy,  then who will?

 

So lets help each other “love each other for the sake of Allah and be shaded by His shade on the day when there will be no shade but His.

3 thoughts on “Love each other for the sake of Allah swt: a Point Plus Program

  1. SubhanAllah, what a coincidence I just conducted two workshops on Loving Each Other for Allahs sake. The Point Plus Program is excellent and can be memorized easily. Shukran

  2. Assalam alai kum Sister Mohsina,

    indeed Allah swt is the best of planners. the workshop that you talked about sounds very interesting, could you share insights from it with us? and please feel free to utilize any part of the post in whatever way suits you,

    jazzak Allahu khairan

    Sana

Leave a Reply

